Research Awards

The Career Development Travel Awards and the Donald F. Klein Early Career Investigator Award support research and are open to graduate students and early career professionals.

These awards were presented at the ADAA 31st Annual Conference, March 24-27, 2011, in New Orleans.

Career Development Travel Awards

Congratulations to the winners of the 2011 ADAA Career Development Travel Awards, which are given to help early career professionals with a research interest in anxiety and anxiety-related disorders.

Award Winners 2011
Top row: Courtney Beard, PhD, Alpert Medical School of Brown University; Helen Dodd, PhD, Macquarie University, Kimberly A. Babson, MA, University of Washington; Lauren M. McGrath, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School

Second row: Matthew A. Jarrett, PhD, University of Alabama; Meghan E. Keough, MS, Florida State University; Susanne E. Ahmari, MD, PhD, Columbia University/New York State Psychiatric Institute; Emily R. Stern, PhD, University of Michigan

Third row: Erin C. Marshall-Berenz, BA, University of Mississippi Medical Center;
Giovanni A. Salum, MD, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul; Elizabeth A. Gordon, MA, Temple University; Takeshi Otowa, MD, PhD; Virginia Commonwealth University

Bottom row: Eric Bui, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School and Laboratoire du Stress Traumatique; D. Jolene Kinley, MA, University of Manitoba; Andres G. Viana, MS, University of Mississippi Medical Center

Not pictured: K. Lira Yoon, PhD, University of Maine

Donald F. Klein Early Career Investigator Award

Congratulations to the 2011 winners for the best original research papers on neurobiology, psychopharmacology, psychosocial treatments, or experimental psychopathology of anxiety and anxiety-related disorders.
This award is supported by the official ADAA journal, Depression and Anxiety, published by Wiley-Blackwell.

First Place
Jacek Debiec, MD, PhD
New York University
Memory Reconsolidation Studies and Their Implications for PTSD





Honorable Mention
Heide Klumpp, PhD
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Trait Anxiety Modulates Anterior Cingulate Activation to Threat Interference





Honorable Mention
Carmen Andreescu, MD
University of Pittsburgh
Altered Cerebral Blood Flow Patterns Associated With Pathologic Worry in the Elderly

2011 Poster Awards

Congratulations to these new research poster winners.

The Role of Anxiety Sensitivity in Startle Responsivity
Katherine A. McMillan, BA, Gordon J.G. Asmundson, PhD, R. Nicholas Carleton, PhD, University of Regina, Canada; Michael J. Zvolensky, PhD,  University of Vermont, Burlington

First Runner-up
Neural Correlates of Somatic Symptomatology in Anxious Youth Presentation
Darcy L. Mandell, BA1, Naho Ichikawa, PhD2, Ashley M. McFarland, MA2, Jennifer S. Silk, PhD1, Cecile D. Ladouceur, PhD3, Neal Ryan, MD3, Greg J. Siegle, PhD1;
1University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA,2University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh, PA,3University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Pittsburgh, PA.

Second Runner-up
Guilt, Posttraumatic Stress, and Suicidal Ideation Among Trauma-Exposed Veterans
May Chen, BA1, Katharine Glossner, BA1, Darren Holowka, PhD1, Paola Rodriguez, MA1, Brian P. Marx, PhD1, Paula Schnurr, PhD1, Carol Lunney, PhD2, Frank Weathers, PhD3, Denise M. Sloan, PhD1, Terence M. Keane, PhD1;
1National Center for PTSD at VA Boston Healthcare System,2Ohio State University,3Auburn University