Children

The Cicadas Are Coming

Funny Bugs Bring Out Phobias and Fear

Spring has arrived, and with it comes a special event for many people living on the East Coast: A brood of 17-year cicadas is scheduled to arise from the ground.

May 9: Children's Mental Health Awareness Day

5/9/2013

Anxiety is a normal part of childhood, and every child goes through phases, but many suffer from an anxiety disorder. Screen your child for an anxiety disorder.
Learn about anxiety and depression in children.

New Podcast: Teen Social Anxiety Disorder & Interventions That Work

4/30/2013

Ms. Shannon, a licensed marriage and family therapist, describes effective treatments for social anxiety disorder in teens. Watch a video of a teen talking about her experience with the disorder and how she got help.

Reacting to a Traumatic Event

4/16/2013

It’s not unusual for people who have experienced traumatic events to have flashbacks, nightmares, or intrusive memories when something terrible happens -- like the explosions at the Boston Marathon. Be tolerant of your nervous system: It’s having a normal reaction. Learn more.

Stressed, Worried, and Have No Confidence?

4/15/2013

Watch this webinar with Dr. John Walker to find out what you can do to manage stress and develop effective strategies will help you to stay healthy and happy.

“People need help. And asking for it isn’t a weakness. Admitting you need help and asking for it? That is acknowledging fear and gaining strength from it. ”

Running for Myself

A lot of things scare me. Right now, those things include my first 20-mile run of marathon training that I have this weekend and sharing this post. That’s the thing with fears, though. Embracing them usually makes you stronger.

Read

Resources for Coping With Trauma

12/17/2012

Our thoughts are with those in Newtown, Connecticut, and all who are affected by the tragedy. In the wake of the shooting, it’s important to remember that support is available: Help your child manage traumatic events includes our podcast on treating children with PTSD and other resources to help you talk to children to reduce their fear.

Public Education Webinar Series

 

This series of free monthly webinars addresses some of the most frequently asked questions about psychological and pharmacological treatment of anxiety disorders, depression, and related disorders in adults and children.

My Age of Anxiety, Live Interview With Scott Stossel
May 7, 2014
7:00 pm EST / 6:00pm CST / 5:00 pm MST / 4:00 pm PST

Contact ADAA

8701 Georgia Ave. #412
Silver Spring, MD 20910

240.485.1001

Contact ADAA

Request Publications

FacebookTwitterRSS

Syndicate content RSS