Professional Webinars

New! We now offer monthly webinars for CE credit. ADAA is approved by the American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education (CE) credits for psychologists, which are granted on a 1 credit per contract basis. Format: A live one-hour audiovisual presentation, including a brief Q&A session.

Registration includes one computer connection, PDF of slide presentation, and one evaluation for a continuing education credit. You must register in advance.

  • $25 per credit for ADAA members
  • $49 per credit for nonmembers 
  • Attendance is limited.
  • Registration closes 24 hours prior to the webinar.
  • For best results, do not use Chrome as your browser.

Emotion Regulation Difficulties in Children and Adolescents: What the Heck Do I Do About It?

Wednesday, September 16, 2015
12 pm ET (11 am CT / 10 am MT / 9 am PT)

Lynne Siqueland, PhD
Clinical Psychologist
Children’s and Adult Center for OCD & Anxiety
Stephanie Eken, MD
Regional Medical Director
Rogers Memorial Hospital

This webinar will address how to help children and teens whose core difficulty appears to be emotion regulation difficulties with or without a primary anxiety or depression diagnosis. These individuals frequently demonstrate problems of rigidity, reactivity, low-frustration tolerance, and difficulty tolerating distress (both emotional and physical), creating problems for themselves and their families. 

The presenters will describe this overarching clinical target and discuss useful clinical behavioral and medication strategies, as well as the strengths and weaknesses of CBT, DBT, and ACT approaches. They will demonstrate how to coach parents to help their children learn these skills and limit the maintenance of problematic behaviors. 

This workshop is designed to help participants

  1. describe the core difficulties in emotion regulation in children and adolescents with anxiety and depressive disorders.
  2. apply two medication decision rules to help make appropriate choices.
  3. utilize two clinical interventions for emotion regulation difficulties.


Upcoming Webinars

Four Keys to Making ERP Effective for OCD
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
12 pm ET (11 am CT / 10 am MT / 9 am PT)
Bradley Riemann, PhD

Complicated Grief
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
12:30 pm ET (11:30 am CT / 10:30 am MT / 9:30 am PT)
Katherine Shear, MD

Archived Webinars (2015)

Trial-Based Cognitive Therapy: A Novel Approach to Changing Core Beliefs (June 18, 2015), presented by Irismar Reis de Oliveira, MD, PhD

Treatment of Adults With Bipolar Disorder (June 10, 2015), presented by Andrew A. Nierenberg, MD

Evidence-Based Treatment of Behavioral Insomnia of Childhood: From A to Zzzz (April 7, 2015), presented by Candice Alfano, PhD

Cognitive-Behavior Therapy for Jealousy (Mar. 19, 2015), presented by Robert L. Leahy, PhD

Effective Behavior Strategies for Selective Mutism (Feb. 11, 2015), presented by Aimee Kotrba, PhD

Tricks of the Trade: Helping Patients Overcome Trichotillomania and Dermatillomania (Jan. 14, 2015), presented by Karen Cassiday, PhD

Archived Webinars (2014)

The Christmas Effect: Myth vs. Fact, Helping Your Patients Cope This Holiday Season (Nov. 13, 2014), presented by Beth Salcedo, MD, and Stacia Casillo, PsyD

Neurobiology of Child Abuse and Neglect and Its Treatment Implications (Oct. 14, 2014), presented by Charles Nemeroff, MD, PhD

Prescriptive Treatment for Children and Adolescents with School Refusal Behavior or How to Help Your Patients With School Anxiety (September 17, 2014), presented by Anne Marie Albano, PhD, ABPP

Novel Pharmacologic Strategies to Enhance Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy: Focus on D-Cycloserine (June 11, 2014), presented by Mark H. Pollack, MD

Psychotherapy for GAD and Comorbid Major Depression
(April 24, 2014), presented by Cindy J. Aaronson, MSW, PhD

Anxiety Disorders and ADHD Comorbidity: Diagnostic and Treatment Implications, (March 5, 2014), presented by Michael Van Ameringen, MD

Depressive Disorders, Bipolar, and Related Disorders in DSM-5 (Feb. 13, 2014), presented by Jan Fawcett, MD

Webinars in 2013

Apps for Therapy, Therapists, and Self-Help: An Overview (December 10, 2013), presented by Simon Rego, PsyD, ABPP, ACT

Research Domain Criteria (RDoC) (October 24, 2013), presented by Bruce Cuthbert, PhD

Prolonged Exposure and Virtual Reality Therapy for PTSD (September 26, 2013), presented by Barbara O. Rothbaum, PhD, ABPP

DSM-5: What’s New for Anxiety Disorders, Obsessive-Compulsive and Related Disorders, and PTSD (August 29, 2013), presented by Katharine Phillips, MD