Recipients of the Travel Awards

These awards are given to help early career professionals with a research interest in anxiety  disorders and depression such as basic and clinical neurobiology and psychopharmacology, clinical psychology, genetics, neuroimaging, epidemiology, and public health, as well as other areas.

The awards also familiarize and engage aspiring professionals with the membership and work of the association.

Congratulations to the winners:


Tali Ball, MA, University of California, San Diego
Charles Brandt, MA, University of Houston
Christie Burton, PhD, Hospital for Sick Children
Jiook Cha, PhD, New York State Psychiatric Institute, Columbia University
Lindsey B. Hopkins DeBoer, PhD, San Francisco VA Medical Center
Isaac Galatzer-Levy, PhD, NYU School of Medicine
Dylan Gee, MA, University of California, Los Angeles
Marie-France Marin, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Brady Nelson, PhD, Stony Brook University
Jennifer Park, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital
Rebecca Sripada, PhD, University of Michigan
Christian Webb, PhD, McLean Hospital, Harvard Medical School

The Andrew Kukes Foundation for Social Anxiety sponsored two Travel Awards focusing on social anxiety disorder for
Jennifer Dahne, MS, University of Maryland, College Park; and Carrie Potter, MA, Temple University.


Roee Admon, PhD, McLean Hospital, Harvard University
Laura Dixon, MS, University of Mississippi Medical Center
Renée El-Gabalawy, MA, University of Manitoba
Angela Fang, MA, McLean Hospital, Harvard University
Matthew Fetzner, MA, University of Regina
Cassidy Gutner, PhD, Boston University
Ryan Herringa, MD, PhD, University of Wisconsin
Ellen Kessel, BA, Stony Brook University
Ellie McGlinchey, PhD, Columbia University
Vasiliki Michopoulos, PhD, Emory University 
Juliana Negreiros, PhD, University of British Columbia
Erel Shvil PhD, Columbia University
Mark Sinyor, MD, University of Toronto
Keith Sudheimer, PhD, Stanford University
Suzanne Vrshek-Schallhorn, PhD, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Michael Wheaton, PhD, Columbia University

The Andrew Kukes Foundation for Social Anxiety sponsored two Travel Awards focusing on social anxiety disorder for
Elizabeth Duval, PhD, University of Michigan; and Amanda Morrison, MA, Temple University.


Christal Badour, MA, University of Arkansas
Joe Bardeen, MA, Northern Illinois University
Kristy Benoit, MS, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Michelle Burns, PhD, Northwestern University
Amanda Calkins, MA, Boston University Center for Anxiety and Related Disorders
Samantha Farris, MA, University of Houston
Ebony Glover, PhD, Emory University School of Medicine
Araceli Gonzalez, PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
Torsten Klengel, MD, Max-Planck Institute of Psychiatry
Joshua Magee, PhD, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
Sergey Sotnikov, MS, Max-Planck Institute of Psychiatry
Jonathan Stange, MA, Temple University
Lisa Starr, PhD, University of California, Los Angeles
Chad Sylvester, MD, PhD, Washington University School of Medicine
Candyce Tart, PhD, Raymond G. Murphy VA Medical Center
David Zepeda, PhD, Northeastern University


Robin Leora Aupperle, PhD, University of Missouri
Terri Barrera, MA, University of Houston
Jessica Bomyea, BA, San Diego University/University of California, San Diego
Nicole Caporino, PhD, Temple University
Jacqueline Clauss, BA, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Kristen Ellard, MA, Boston University/Massachusetts General Hospital
Negar Fani, PhD, Emory University
Marcelo Hoexter, MD, PhD, University of São Paulo Medical School
Brian Iacoviello, PhD, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Katharina Kircanski, PhD, Stanford University
Teresa Leyro, BA, University of California, San Francisco
Jennifer Robinson, MA, University of Manitoba
Christine Rabinak, PhD, VA Healthcare System, Michigan
Emily Rosenberger, BA, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine


Susanne E. Ahmari, MD, PhD, Columbia University/New York State Psychiatric Institute
Kimberly A. Babson, MA, University of Washington
Courtney Beard, PhD, Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Eric Bui, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School and Laboratoire du Stress Traumatique
Helen Dodd, PhD, Macquarie University
Elizabeth A. Gordon, MA, Temple University
Matthew A. Jarrett, PhD, University of Alabama
Meghan E. Keough, MS, Florida State University
D. Jolene Kinley, MA, University of Manitoba
Erin C. Marshall-Berenz, BA, University of Mississippi Medical Center
Lauren M. McGrath, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School
Takeshi Otowa, MD, PhD; Virginia Commonwealth University
Giovanni A. Salum, MD, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul
Emily R. Stern, PhD, University of Michigan
Andres G. Viana, MS, University of Mississippi Medical Center
K. Lira Yoon, PhD, University of Maine


Ananda Amstadter, PhD, Medical University of South Carolina
Kelsey Collimore, MA, University of Regina
Sophie Alice George, PhD, University of Michigan
Neda Gould, PhD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Amanda Guyer, PhD, University of California, Davis
Anneke Haddad, DPhil, University of Oxford
Anthony King, PhD, University of Michigan Medical School
Jonathan Burke Kelley, BA, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Heide Klumpp, PhD, University of Michigan
Nicole McLaughlin, PhD, Butler Hospital/Albert Medical School of Brown University
Robert Pietrzak, PhD, MPH, National Center for PTSD/VA Connecticut Healthcare System/Yale School of Medicine
Rebecca Price, MS, Rutgers University
Casey Schofield, MA, Binghamton University
Leah Somerville, PhD, Sackler Institute of Developmental Psychobiology
Jeffrey Strawn, MD, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
Paul Gerson Unschuld, MD, Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry
Ilan Wald, MA, Tel Aviv University
Bethany Wangelin, MS, University of Florida


Katja Beesdo, PhD, Technische Universitaet Dresden
Shay-Lee Belik, MA, University of Manitoba
Julia Buckner, PhD, Louisiana State University
Gregory Chasson, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital
Stacy Drury, MD, PhD, Tulane University School of Medicine
Angelika Erhart, MD, Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry
Miguel Fullana, PhD, Unitat D'Ansietat IAPS Hospital del Mar
Sarah Garfinkel, PhD, University of Michigan
Andrew Gilbert, MD, University of Pittsburgh
Tanja Jovanovich, PhD, Emory University School of Medicine
Hanjoo Lee, MA, University of Texas at Austin
Karen Martinez, MD, University of Puerto Rico
Kiara Timpano, MA, Massachusetts General Hospital