Career Development Leadership Program Cohort

First Annual Program

ADAA selected the first peer cohort in 2014 for its new Career Development Leadership Program. Through a competitive selection process this initiative brings together early career clinicians and researchers from multiple disciplines to provide an intensive mentoring and professional development opportunity.

An interactive learning experience, the program challenges thinking and encourages creative discourse about anxiety disorders, OCD, PTSD, and depression among a diverse community of professionals. This highly participatory program features outstanding leaders in the field, who will initiate stimulating discussions that shape ideas, collaboration and cross-cutting discussions that engage clinicians and researchers in new ways of thinking about the future.

Meet the 2014 cohort:

Alison Alden, PhD
Northwestern University

Kristy Allen, PhD
University of Pittsburgh

Randy Auerbach, PhD
Harvard Medical School

Terri Barrera, PhD
Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center

Courtney Benjamin, PhD
University of Pennsylvania

Shannon Bennett, PhD
Weill Cornell Medical College

Eleonore Beurel, PhD  
University of Miami

Michael Brus, MD 
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Joao Busnello, MD  
Rush University Medical Center

Ashley Ellison, MD    
Tulane University School of Medicine

Miguel Fullana, PhD  
Hospital del Mar
Autonomous University of Barcelona

Daniel Grupe, PhD 
University of Wisconsin-Madison 

Tamar Gur, MD, PhD  
The Ohio State University

Cassidy Gutner, PhD 
Boston University
National Center for PTSD, VA Boston Healthcare

Rania Johnson, MD  
Chicago Psychiatry Associates

Sahib Khalsa, MD, PhD    
University of California, Los Angeles

Katharina Kircanski, PhD    
Stanford University

Rachel Leonard, PhD   
Rogers Memorial Hospital

Adam Lewin, PhD    
University of South Florida

Li Li, MD, PhD    
The University of Alabama at Birmingham

Abigail Lott, PhD   
Emory University

Ellie McGlinchey, PhD   
Columbia University/NYS Psychiatric Institute

Vasiliki Michopoulos, PhD    
Emory University

Mireya Nadal-Vicens, MD, PhD   
Massachusetts General Hospital

William Oakley, PsyD    
Kansas City Center for Anxiety Treatment

Elizabeth Penela, PhD   
University of Miami

Matthew Price, PhD  
University of Vermont

Naomi Samimi Sadeh, PhD    
National Center for PTSD, VA Boston Healthcare

Melanie Santos, PsyD   
Anxiety & Agoraphobia Treatment Center

Alexander Shackman, PhD  
University of Maryland, College Park

Andrea Sheckler, LCSW      
Stairways Behavioral Health

Jeffrey Spielberg, PhD        
VA Boston Healthcare System

Kiara Timpano, PhD     
University of Miami

Alik Widge, MD, PhD            
Massachusetts General Hospital

Maha Zayed, PhD        
Anxiety & Agoraphobia Treatment Center

Thank you to Charles Nemeroff, MD, PhD, Program Chair, for taking the lead on this new initiative. These ADAA members serve as faculty and mentors:
Cindy Aaronson, MSW, PhD
Karen Cassiday, PhD
W. Edward Craighead, PhD
Ned Kalin, MD
Kimberly Morrow, MSW
Philip Muskin, MD
Simon Rego, PsyD
Kerry Ressler, MD, PhD
Beth Salcedo, MD
Michael Thase, MD