ADAA Standing Committees

Awards Committee

Risa_Weisberg [at] brown [dot] edu (Risa Weisberg, PhD;) rrw [at] med [dot] unc [dot] edu (R. Reid Wilson, PhD, )Co-chairs

Committee members: Daniel Pine, MD; Kerry Ressler, MD, PhD
nsimon [at] partners [dot] org (Naomi Simon, MD, MSc,) Board liaison


Purpose: The Awards Committee implements organizational awards as defined by the Board of Directors. 

Responsibilities: The Awards Committee, or designated subcommittees, is responsible for the following:

  • promoting awards
  • encouraging applications
  • reviewing submissions and managing confidential discussion of candidates
  • recommending candidates to the Board of Directors for approval
  • organizing the presentation of awards at the Annual Conference
  • recommending new awards as necessary

 Current ADAA Awards

  • Career Development Travel Awards
  • Donald F. Klein Early Career Investigator Award
  • Jerilyn Ross Clinician Advocate Award
  • ADAA Members of Distinction Award
  • Clinician Outreach Award

Membership Committee

bethsalcedo [at] gmail [dot] com (Beth Salcedo, MD, )Chair

Committee members: Susanne Ahmari, MD, PhD; Andrea Barmish-Mazza, PhD; Michael Brus, MD; Karen Cassiday, PhD; Sheila Dowd, PhD; Elizabeth DuPont Spencer, MSW; Brigette Erwin, PhD; Michael Golder, MD; Eric Goodman, PhD; Ken Goodman, LCSW; Ruth Lippin, LCSW; Kimberly Morrow, LCSW; Kim Rockwell-Evans, PhD; Erica Wagner-Heimann, PsyD


Purpose: The Membership Committee focuses on recruitment and retention of clinicians and researchers to grow the organization.


Responsibilities: The Membership Committee, or designated subcommittees, is responsible for the following:

  • recruitment plans to new members in all categories
  • retention plan for current members
  • evaluation of member benefits to improve value
  • recommending new categories of membership and activities consistent with the needs of all members

Public Education

nealsideman [at] gmail [dot] com (Neal Sideman; )Tami [dot] Roblek [at] childrenscolorado [dot] org (Tami Roblek, PhD,) Co-chairs
Committee members: Wendy Freeman, PhD; Debra Kissen, PhD; Karen Martinez, MSc, MD; Steve Martinez, PhD; Patrick McGrath, PhD; Kathariya Mokrue, PhD; Catherine Pittman, PhD; Amy Przeworski, PhD; Jane Spell, LCPC; Andrea Umbach, PhD; Sally Winston, PsyD; Jenny Yip, PsyD

Lisa R. Hale, PhD, Board liaison


Purpose: The Public Education Committee improves and expands public education and outreach about anxiety, depression, and related disorders through webinars and other media and collaborations.


Responsibilities: The Public Education Committee, or designated subcommittees, is responsible for the following:

  • assisting staff in identifying experts who can respond to media questions and provide content and expert information for all uses
  • identifying new areas and media for outreach, e.g. social media, videos, web-based events, etc.
  • evaluating ADAA educational activities
  • recommending collaborations, partnerships, campaigns to extend outreach




Contact ADAA

8701 Georgia Ave. #412
Silver Spring, MD 20910


Contact ADAA

Request Publications



ADAA is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to the prevention, treatment, and cure of anxiety, OCD, PTSD, depression, and related disorders and to improving the lives of all people who suffer from them.


Privacy Policy 
© ADAA, 2010-2014